hi·a·tus (hīˈādəs/)


So… I’ve been gone a while. I really wanted to write but I was busy living a little bit of life, learning some lessons – mostly about myself. I worked on removing myself from my children’s choices and learning what I want.  I also paid a lot of attention and started figuring out what exactly makes me happy. So far, the things that make me happiest are:

  • “Not dates” because it doesn’t matter what they are labeled when it is really the best thing ever just hanging out with each other
  • Art – all kinds but especially surrealism and art that tells a story
  • Art stores
  • Bargains
  • Being a rock star and accomplishing the exact things everyone else says I can’t
  • Being caught off guard by something really sweet
  • Being creative
  • Being forehead to forehead with someone as they whisper in your ear
  • Being generous
  • Being silly
  • Being so tired, I don’t even feel tired anymore
  • Bookstores
  • Breathtaking scenery
  • Bubble baths
  • Butterflies and fireflies
  • Cheddar cheese and olive sandwiches
  • Cheese – all varieties
  • Chocolate Thunder from Down Under at Outback
  • City lights at night
  • Coffee shops
  • Cold, clean sheets
  • Comedy Clubs
  • Craft stores – they are just inspirational
  • Creating a magical world for people I love
  • Crunchy leaves on the sidewalk
  • Crying happy tears
  • Cuddles on the couch with someone I love
  • Discovering new music that speaks to my soul
  • Discovering a new book
  • Doing something I was afraid of doing, being successful and realizing my fears were ridiculous
  • Doing things that normally would be really boring but… because I am doing them with really awesome people, the boring things are suddenly really awesome
  • Dragons and fairies
  • Driving in my car alone and being able to scream / sing as loud as I want to just because I can
  • Emails and facebook chat messages that feeling like having coffee with someone
  • Emoticons. They are extremely helpful.
  • Game nights
  • Family
  • Feeling safe and loved wrapped in the arms of someone I love
  • Figuring out how to make due with what I have
  • Finding out that somebody who acts all cool and collected is actually just as nervous as I am
  • Finding something I didn’t know I was looking for
  • Fitting into pants I couldn’t fit into last year
  • Font play
  • Found art
  • Fresh beginnings
  • Fresh flowers (But no red roses. Those make me sad for some reason)
  • Friends
  • Giving unexpected gifts
  • Going for walks while listening to tunes
  • Grace
  • Grilled Lobster
  • Hanging out with somebody and it’s time to go home but I can tell they don’t really want me to leave
  • Having someone in my life who I can be completely 100% honest with and have good conversations with
  • Head banging to polka in the car with my son while sitting at stop lights
  • Hearing embarrassing stories from family and friends
  • Heart shaped rocks unexpectedly received
  • Holding hands with someone I love (No dead fish stuff – just playful and sensuous)
  • Honest and authentic compliments
  • Late night dessert runs
  • Laughing
  • Lazy Saturdays
  • Learning new things
  • Listening to well-loved music loaded with memories (New ones, old ones and ones I am hoping to have)
  • Looking back on something that’s really funny even though it really sucked at the time
  • Lying in bed with cold sheets and warm blankets watching tree branches dance in the wind through the window
  • Lying in bed for an extra hour because it’s warm and because I can
  • Making other people feel special
  • Making up stories while people watching
  • Managing my money in such a way that it no longer worries me
  • Movie marathons
  • Newly sharpened pencils
  • Old leather books each one with a beautiful flyleaf
  • Open Mic nights
  • Parsimonious shopping
  • Peanut butter and pickle sandwiches
  • Pens with purple ink
  • Peonies
  • People watching
  • People who bring out the best in me
  • People who don’t mind taking care of spiders and centipedes for me
  • People who have an awesome and distinct laugh
  • People who make me laugh
  • People who put up with me even when I am grumpy, anxious or neurotic
  • Pizza
  • Playing the piano (even though I don’t get to do it that much anymore and I’m not that good at it)
  • Playing with food
  • Poetry
  • Practical jokes (clever, not hurtful ones)
  • Praying through the Bible
  • Pretty smelling things – candles, incense etc
  • Quotes
  • Rainy mornings
  • Random acts of kindness
  • Randomly finding an album I used to listen to ages ago at the music store and being able to buy it for peanuts because no one really understands how important that album truly is
  • Reading a really good book
  • Reading my Bible
  • Reading other people’s blogs and ideas
  • Reading profound quotes
  • Reading the news (especially on the BBC)
  • Re-dos and re-makes
  • Sharing a piece of my soul with someone I love and having them embrace the gift
  • Singing in the car when no one is there
  • Sitting so close to somebody that I can hear them breathing
  • Slow dancing with someone I love in a random place just because I can
  • Small towns with cute boutiques and thrift stores
  • Smiles from strangers
  • Snuggling up in a pile of blankets on a cold day
  • Solving problems and implementing (not finishing) them
  • Staying up until 2am talking with my best friend
  • Sunlight and shadows
  • Surprises (Good ones)
  • Talking with people who are living the life they were created to live
  • The internet – the things you can learn!
  • The way someone looks at me when they love me
  • Two hearts beating in tandem
  • Walking in the dark, right before a storm
  • Wearing an outfit I feel good in
  • When a beautiful man has a little bit of stubble on his face
  • When a friend is completely honest with me about something they are struggling with. When they are willing to be vulnerable even though it’s risky
  • When I am being a hot mess and a friend calls me on it because they care more about me in the long run than they do about the fact that I might take it the wrong way for a little while
  • When I am feeling stupidly anxious about something and somebody talks me off the ledge even though I am being ridiculous and absolutely know better
  • When I am having a bad day and someone notices and refuses to accept my “I’m okay”
  • When I catch somebody’s eye across the room and we have one of those moments where we say things without using words and I feel like they are 20 times closer because of it
  • When I need somebody to hold me and somebody just gets than without me saying anything and steps up to be that person
  • When I spend a long time cuddling up with someone I love and when they leave, I can still smell them
  • When I tell someone I miss them and they say “I miss you too” back. And they mean it.
  • When I’m sad or feeling down or just lazy and somebody runs their fingers through my hair or strokes my hair away from my face
  • When little kids say ridiculous things when they are trying to say something else
  • When my back really, really hurts and someone insists on rubbing it even when their wrists ache
  • When people are funny when they aren’t trying to be funny
  • When people follow through and do something they said they would do
  • When somebody notices something about me that I didn’t even know. And they think its cute.
  • When somebody rubs my neck and shoulders and I haven’t been complaining about how sore it is
  • When somebody scratches my back for me
  • When somebody trusts me enough to tell me a secret of their heart
  • When the person I think is funnier than anyone else in my life laughs at my jokes
  • Writing
  • When someone stops trying to be impressive with me and starts being real
  • When I can stop trying to be impressive with someone and start being real

Happy

2 thoughts on “hi·a·tus (hīˈādəs/)”

  1. Mara, I miss hearing from you. I assume you are blogging through the tears–maybe seeing the sunshine on the other side. I am glad to know you seem to be coming out on the other side.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwwwww….. I am working to get back on a regular schedule. Thanks so much for checking in! It is nice to be missed and is excellent motivation!!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

